WITH 1,092 REVIEWS
To view local phone numbers
Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of Raleigh
about Precision Garage Door
has received 17 reviews, averaging 1.00 Stars:
Was told on the phone that a Torsion spring repair would be between $150-$300 all in, but they couldn’t quote the exact price until tech shows up. Oh, and the tech costs $75 to show up, but we credit you if you use us. Classic sunk cost fallacy here. Tech shows up and says the part costs $330. Just wasted $75 for a visit.
- Joe Gatt
We are sorry you felt you had a bad experience as we strive to provide 5 star level service to everyone. All calls that come in are recorded to help if there is a communication breakdown during the scheduling and quoting process. After listening to the call, the young lady quoted the service call of $75 that was waived with repair on multiple occasions as that was a specific question you had about the charge. You also asked about pricing which you were given a range which the technicians quote also matched. We are sorry you're unhappy, but the information you were given on what to expect when the technician came out to your home was correct. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
Technician: Scotty Johnson
I am disappointed because I asked if i have to pay for the visit and estimate and you said no and the guy charged me 75
- Evandro Oliveira
Hi, thank you for calling us to come and provide an estimate for your spring replacement. We are sorry to see that you feel you received 1 star service. We have listened to the call that you had on 8/11/23 with the call center for 7 minutes and 53 seconds. All of our calls are recorded so we can make sure all details and pertinent information is provided to the customer. The scheduler did instruct you around the 2:07 mark of the call about the $75.00 service fee for coming out and that it would be waived if you had the repairs done. She also advised you multiple times of the ballpark price of the springs and that it was a per spring price of anywhere from $126-$330. When she advised you of the estimated price over the phone, she was very adamant in telling you that the technician would give you the exact price after the inspection was done. You repeated this information back to her on more than one occasion. We strive very hard to provide 5 star service and if we do something wrong, we will make every attempt to fix it, but in this case, the scheduler did exactly as she is supposed to. If you would like to discuss this more, please feel free to reach out to the office and speak with the service manger. We can provide you with a copy of the recorded call if needed.
Assessed problem….. told me would fix in a few days….. didn’t show or contact me….. I completed repair with alternate provider
- John Havlin
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. After speaking to the technician who was at your home, he admitted that once he left the property he forgot to tell the office to order the part and the day to return. We can not apologize enough for what occurred and it is certainly not standard practice. Please reach out if you are interested in further discussing the matter.
This place has no respect for your time or money. After setting up an appointment for garage repair. I was given the time slot 10am-12pm just for no technician to not show or call. I then called their office just to be told my appointment was 10am-2pm. When 2pm came still no call or show from tech. It took until 2:30pm for the tech to call me and say he will show up at 3pm. The tech shows takes a 3min look at my garage just to escalate the repair more. I was then charged $75 for a late appointment carving out my work schedule missing out on an opportunity with a client that cost me. Called their office with my concerns just to be placed on a long hold and told a manage will call me back. Never received a call from manager which cost them this review. Lucky for them I have YouTube page with 700k subscriber and will leave a review their to compensate for my time, money and awful service that was provided. Please save your time and money with this company and go elsewhere like “WeFixIt” and other surrounding companies that doesn’t still charge for late technicians to examine your garage.
- Shea Lyde
We apologize for showing up about an hour late to your appointment window. We take customer service and satisfaction very seriously and apologize you felt your time was wasted. The manager who was being contacted by the call center was actually on vacation and the office was unaware of what was going on with your situation until the next morning. We were glad we were able to talk out the situation and come to a resolution and hope you give us another chance next time you need your garage door worked on or replaced.
I think i passed because the technician first said there is nothing he could do in the moment. He offered me a package of $1100 to which i said i would think about it and then he asked me if price was my concern. I said yes. He went back to his car and after a few minutes he came back with a proposal to do another tuning to the trolley and reprogramming the door. He quoted $150 for just that. I told him that I don’t want to move forward. He used a green can of lubricant which said do not use on garage tracks but he did use it on the tracks. The only reason i found out about this fine print because i took a picture of the container. I am sorry but I can’t recommend to anyone.
- Satnam Pat
Hello Mr. Patel, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review concerning your experience, but we feel we must clarify a few items. You asked us to come out and address some loud noises your door was making and take a look at it to see what it would take to fix it. You have a heavy and out of balance door, and you have what is called a TMS tube which everything is built onto an assembly which is commonly used in new construction builds (springs, tube, cable drums are all built into this one assembly), therefore the only thing we can offer is to do a total rebuild as the tms system does not have replaceable individual parts like the system we would of installed for you. Also the parts we use are long life/high cycle and are designed to last 3 or 4 times as long as the standard builder grade parts that come with the manufacturer's doors. Your other issue you have is your garage door opener. The limits are set to start/stop at a certain point and they are going beyond those points causing the opener rail to push or pull on the door too far in the open and closed position which can damage door panels, the opener rail, and the chain to slack on the rail. The $150 quote was to reset all the settings in hopes that would fix it, lube, and do maintenance on the opener in an attempt to keep you from needing to replace it down the road and get it working properly for the time being. Regarding the lube, he did spray down all your parts including the rollers since they do not have a sealed bearing assembly. He sprayed the back of the rollers and not the entire track, but despite what the can of spray says, there is no harm in lube ending up on the track where the rollers travel. Please feel free to reach out should you have any other questions or need us in the future.
The technician spent 10 seconds here and told he he doesn’t work on the brand of door opener that I have. I was still charged the $80 service fee. I spoke to a scheduler and the technician before the service visit and neither of them mentioned this possibility.
- Lisa Stevens
Five stars for the service rep. Professional, friendly, and fast. He did a great job. One star for the company. Was not told over the phone that a new garage door keypad to be installed would cost $250. Was also not told that I would get charged $75 just for the service rep showing up. Once he told me $250 I almost turned him away but then he said you're going to get charged $75 just for me showing up. Was told that it has to be a special type of keypad entry system and that I couldn't get one at the store. Would not recommend this company at this time. Very disappointed in their billing practices.
- Rufus Reynolds
Thank you for your business and feedback. We are glad to see you were happy with the service Trevor provided, but we are sorry to see you weren't happy with the pricing he provided to you. The call center that handles our scheduling is who you spoke with first. They are supposed to advise you of the $75.00 service fee that will be charged if work is not performed, but would be waived if work is performed. This is a standard fee that almost all service companies charge. All of our calls are recorded so we listened. We apologize that she did not inform you of the fee as she should have and we will address that with the call center. The price of the Marantec keypad wasn't discussed on the call at all. The call center wouldn't have had the pricing for that key pad to provide even if you did ask because they aren't at the job site and wouldn't know what to offer you. As you mentioned in the call, a generic keypad will not work for your motor. We have to specifically order Marantec items to keep in stock to service customers like yourself who have that particular opener. Again, we are sorry you're unhappy with the price and if you would like to discuss further, please call and speak with our service manager.
Technician: Trevor Mills
I would not use Precision Door Service again. One of the torsion springs broke on our overhead double door. Precision Door Service charged us $750 to replace the pair of springs, which took the technician less than 40-minutes total. When I questioned/ pushed back on the cost, which was about 2x what I expected, the technician told me the springs cost them over $250 each! I later called four other garage door businesses and learned the going rate for this common repair averages $375 total, and our standard springs cost around $100 each. After calling Friday morning, they refunded me $350 to bring their cost in line. I learned from my calling around that this is an often repeated scenario with this company - and the ease and routine manner of the refund bore this out.
- M. Young
Thank you for your business and we are very sorry to see that you felt you received 1 star service. We apologize for the communication issue with the technician and we are happy to see that the service manager was able to take care of the refund for you. Customer satisfaction is our top goal and we are sorry we didn't meet this goal with you. We hope that we can work with you again in the future to prove this isn't how we operate our business. Please call if we can assist you with anything.
Technician: Andy Maynard
I’m not happy at all. I called Precision thinking I would pay the $75 trip charge and would get my garage door motor fixed, but was told it would cost me $149 to put in a new circuit board because I had already ordered it straight from Liftmaster and their were no guarantees it would work. They said I could pay $600+ for a new garage door motor with a 4 year guarantee, so I just paid the $75 trip charge and did it myself. The commercial for Precision looks grea and professional, but I wasn’t impressed with the customer service I received.
- Robert Herbert
Technician: Trevor Mills
I scheduled technician for my garage door opener motor setting. Since I played with it earlier because door keep on opening itself and sometime just not get full close.He came and look at my garage door and told me to change its spring. Although spring was not broken or it might need some basic service. He told me to change spring that will cost $1300. I asked him first please look for motor setting since spring was not broken. But he refused to touch the motor. He played smart for half an hour. He told me, he will do it for me for $1000. I said still it is too much. I have to pay him $75 for nothing. Next day I called other garage door company. Other company told me spring is ok. If I still need to change it. He gonna charge $550 for the same spring that precision door technician was offering with out taking any money for estimate. I am very disappointed with the precision company, looks like scammer. WITH this review I ask you guys to return my $75. I will never recommend this company. Thanks
- Pawan Deo
Technician: Scotty Johnson
I was charged $972.00 for a guarage repair. All I needed was new springs and a motor.
- Alvin Powell
Technician: Greg Gray
It was explained to me I have a Wayne Dalton system and it would cost $1,300 to replace my springs and I would come out cheaper to call Wayne Dalton. I called Wayne Dalton made an appointment and was quoted a price of $450.00 for repair. Wayne Dalton has their own patented system. If you have a Wayne Dalton door installed and don't want to convert for $1,300 call Wayne Dalton. I was charged a service fee of $40.61
- John Woods
Technician: Richard McCann
Kindly asked for a receipt for service check and did not provide.
- Josie Calaway
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your experience. We are sorry a receipt wasn't provided for you that day. Your payment has been posted and a receipt was emailed to you this morning. If you have any further issues, please call and speak with a manager. We appreciate your business.
Ripped off. Charged $700 for replacing two springs and rollers, which others are charging $300-400. Made mistake of not getting quotes from others as I did not want to call others because of COVID-19. This people are taking advantage of situations. Will never work with Precision and will never recommend to others.
- Minesh Patel
Thank you for your business and taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We are sorry you feel as though you were ripped off and did not receive five star service. We never want our customers to feel like they were overcharged. When our technician comes out to inspect your door, they provide you with quotes of the cost to repair your door. We never do any work before the quote is explained and customers have time to ask any questions, whether it be about the price, parts, warranty, etc, which is when you could have voiced your concern about the price. You did approve the work and the price when it was discussed with you and that price included 2 heavy duty, high cycle, powder coated springs, 10 rollers and a 5 year warranty on parts with a 1 year warranty on labor. Our prices are competitive with other companies, when you actually compare the same products and warranty when you obtain other quotes. We have different types of springs which all have different costs, and most other companies would have the same, so calling and just asking for a price and not for a price to match exactly what you got, would not provide you with accurate information. We are a reputable company which you can see from our many 5 star reviews, and we would never take advantage of a customer. We do appreciate your business and if you have further questions about your service, please call our service manager.
Wake Forest, NC
I’m very disappointed that you would not fix only the broken spring on our garage door. The other was replaced last year. When I called I was told $188 or around there knowing only one was broken. Would not repair unless both springs are replaced. $617 SCAM
- Robin Poston
Thank you for your providing feedback about your experience with our company. After speaking with the technician about your job, he stated he spoke with your husband in great detail about the reason both springs needed to be replaced and that the spring you are referring to, was the wrong size for the door. It is our company policy that all springs on the door get replaced after one breaks. The reason for this is because of safety concerns for the technician and the longevity of the door. We are sorry you feel that you were scammed but this was not the case. We have a standard to uphold and make sure your door is safe and works as it should. Having the wrong spring on your door is a safety concern and we are glad that the technician was able to discuss this with your husband and make it right. We do appreciate your business and if we can assist you in the future, please don't hesitate to call.
Yeah, with out even trying to open the door. The quote was $800 for a spring replacement from Precision. So, I just paid the $75 fee and got a quote from Wayne Dalton and they replaced it for $350. I know I live in Cary, but just because I'm well off doesn't mean I'm stupid with my money.
We have reviewed your account and the 25 point safety inspection which showed your spring, cable and the door balance all failed inspection. We are certainly glad the technician did not try to open your door with a broken spring as the spring is the counterbalance and the muscle of the door. The technician could be seriously injured in an attempt to do so. We are sorry you felt our price was unfair but to imply that we only quoted you a particular price because of where you live, is completely inaccurate and that is not how we treat customers. We service all of our customers equally no matter what zip code they live in or what their home might make one believe they have in their bank account. As you said, you could go to the manufacturer and get the parts cheaper but unfortunately, we cannot sell parts and install them for the price we buy them for. Thanks for your consideration in using our service.
Son in law couldn’t open garage door while we were out of country. Said he may have hit the # sign instead of enter Sign and wondered if he somehow changed code. I had no idea how to change code. The pad worked to close door but just would not work to open with code. Was hoping since I was a long time customer you might have suggested how to check the code or change it back if it had been changed by mistake. Technician looked at it and said the pad looked old and they wear out quickly. But the new one would work with any new motor if we needed one later. Made it sound like a better pad. I said ok to new pad and was totally surprised when the replacement was the exact same as old one and when he told me how to put in the code, he told me to do the exact thing that I told him my son in law said he had done that might have changed the code. So he up sold me to the tune of $284 when he could have simply said try this and see if it works. Give him a star for the up sale, but mark me off as a future customer and I will tell as many people about this as I possibly can. Totally feel victimized!!!!’
- Jerry Monday
Thank you so much for reaching out and we are very sorry you feel victimized. Our goal is customer satisfaction and for each customer to receive five star service, and we hate we missed the mark with you. Based on the inspection your keypad failed and the recommendation was to replace it. Some keypads we have look the same as the old one but the updated version has updated internal parts that the old one did not, which would, like the technician said, make it work with any future motors you might purchase. We do appreciate your business and hope we can work with you in the future.
Office: (919) 500-5160
300 Dominion Drive
Morrisville, NC 27560
Office: (919) 874-1012
1426 Wall Road
Wake Forest, NC 27587
Office: (919) 367-3784
207 W Millbrook Road
Raleigh, NC 27609